David Holmes

David Holmes

Skip to product information
1 of 5
Select Title:
View full details
  • Released 21/10/2016

    Catalogue No. ALN45

    DJ and producer David Holmes is welcomed to the Late Night Tales fraternity with an evocative collection of personal songs and music, peppered with exclusive new material and rare gems.

    By now, I think we all know David Holmes, right? There’s acid house Holmes, with bone-rattling Chicago jams and Detroit destroyers; break-digger Holmes responsible for the grittily shaking ‘Let’s Get Killed’ and seminal Essential Mix compilation, and then there’s soundtrack Holmes.

    His most enduring and vital source of musical inspiration - cinema - plugged into David’s first solo record ‘This Film’s Crap, Let’s Slash the Seats’ and inspired 2000’s ‘Bow Down to the Exit Sign’; created as the soundtrack to a not-yet-made movie. Official soundtracks have been bountiful, including scores for Soderbergh’s Out Of Sight and Ocean’s trilogy, '71, Hunger and Good Vibrations. In a series of personal songs sung by himself, David’s last solo album ‘The Holy Pictures’ explored influences of La Düsseldorf, The Jesus and Mary Chain and early Brian Eno. His Unloved collaboration with Keefus Ciancia and Jade Vincent then took us on a musical journey full of raw 60s pop-noir, psychedelia and French Ye Ye with a contemporary twist. Somehow he’s also found time to produce records by Primal Scream and Jon Spencer Blues Explosion.

    Unsurprisingly, for someone au fait with matters cinematic, this Late Night Tales conjures up its own mind-movies. It’s not only packed with the judiciously selected nuggets for which his mixes are noted but also stuffed with original material, including collaborations with BP Fallon and Jon Hopkins and an amazing new reading of 10cc’s ‘I’m Not In Love’ by Holmes-produced Song Sung. In fact, there’s a Celtic thread running through the whole journey with Stephen Rea’s reading of an extract from Seamus Heaney’s AENEID BOOK VI - Elsewhere Anchises. Among the other gems included here are David Crosby’s lush ‘Orleans’, Buddy Holly’s celestial ‘Love Is Strange’ and the Children Of Sunshine’s ‘It’s A Long Way To Heaven’.

    David Holmes loves music. It’s a way of expressing the sometimes inexpressible or the inconsolable; a questing desire to find out just what is over the next hill. It’s no surprise to learn he’s a keen walker. Always on the move, headphones on, lost in some reverie or piece of music; the soundtrack to his life, the stuff that feeds his imagination.

    "I walk a lot. It’s amazing for listening to music: your phone or your emails aren’t going and you’re just in the forest listening to music. It’s so intimate. Anyway, I was listening to the KLF’s Chill Out album, which still sounds amazing, but it triggered an idea with concrete sounds through travelling and movement. And one of the things I was trying to do was to use this idea not just break up the moods but also as a metaphor for moving through life and arriving in different destinations or arriving at different stages in different parts of your life.

    Memory, Love, Living, Family, Friendship, Healing, Death and The Afterworld are some of the themes I wanted to explore within this record. Although these strong themes and tracks are personal to me, I also wanted it to be a great listen that was unpredictable yet had a seamless flow - a journey that was personal to me yet to the listener a great compilation of music that they may or may not have heard before. I hope I’ve succeeded in the later.
    David Holmes 2016

    CD and Vinyl both come "mixed" with unmixed track downloads


    1. Barry Woolnough - Great Father Spirit In The Sky
    2. David Holmes & Steve Jones – The Reiki Healer From County Down (Exclusive Track)
    3. The Children Of Sunshine – It’s A Long Way To Heaven
    4. Spark Sparkle – Slythtovery (Exclusive Track)
    5. Alain Maclean – Talking Judgement Day Blues
    6. David Crosby – Orleans
    7. Buddy Holly – Love Is Strange
    8. After Dinner – Paradise of Replica
    9. Lullaby Movement – Ru-Ru (Sleep Little Baby) (Exclusive Track)
    10. Jeff Bridges & Keefus Ciancia – It’s In Every One Of Us (Exclusive Track)
    11. Song Sung – I’m Not In Love (Exclusive 10cc Cover Version - Produced by David Holmes)
    12. Neo Maya – I Won’t Hurt You
    13. BP Fallon & David Holmes – Henry McCullough (Exclusive Track)
    14. Documenta – Love As A Ghost (Produced by David Holmes)
    15. Keith Fullerton Whitman - Stereo Music For Acoustic Guitar, Buchla Music Box 100, Hewlett Packard Model 236 Oscillator, Electric Guitar And Computer – Part 1
    16. Eat Lights Become Lights – Into Forever
    17. Geese – Andrew Parsnip (Exclusive Track)
    18. DIE HEXEN – Gloomy Sunday (Exclusive Track)
    19. David Holmes & Jon Hopkins feat Stephen Rea – Elsewhere Anchises (Exclusive Track)
  • Released 21/10/2016

    Catalogue No. ALN45