After Dark Nightshift

After Dark Nightshift

Bill Brewster

Skip to product information
1 of 3
Select Title:
View full details
  • Released 06/07/2014

    Catalogue No. ALN36

    Late Night Tales welcomes back the cult figure and ultimate musical connoisseur Bill Brewster to compile his second episode of the After Dark series. An obscure and timeless DJ­ led journey - welcome back to ‘After Dark: Nightshift’.

    Once again Bill Brewster comes armed with a sensitivity and sense of occasion that few other DJs possess. Delivering another batch of slow cooked musical stews, making sure the tempo stays nice and steady and the emphasis is on funk, soul, grits and corn fried chicken, Brewster has done so much digging, Late Night Tales had to hire a forklift truck and tractor. Among the unreleased nuggets, there’s the Fernando mix of The Detachments; inordinate excitement about Gino Fontaine, a tune spotted a year ago but has languished in Andy Meecham’s Stafford catacombs ever since. Also unearthed are some hitherto secret recordings between Robert Fripp and The Grid, and there are also some proper club faves here, too, like the daft but brilliant ‘Mopedbart’ by Hubbabubbaklubb and the luminous ‘Boutade’ by Mugwump, as well as killer oldies like Salsoul Invention and General Lee.

    Vinyl Tracklist (Double virgin vinyl unmixed tracks, includes download codes to 18 unmixed full tracks & DJ Mix as mp3/wav)

    A1 Typesun - Last Home (Original mix) 4:40
    A2 The Gino Fontaine – Revnorev 7:46 (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    A3 Salsoul Invention - Soul Machine 3:05 4. General – Magic 3:57

    B1 Day Outside - Faraway Sensation 6:03 (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    B2 Mugwump - Boutade (Miseridub) 9:13

    C1 Hubbabubbaklubb – Mopedbart 5:12
    C2 Crowdpleaser & St Plomb - Not Yet Not Yet 5:10
    C3 The Grid & Robert Fripp - A Cabala Sky 4:04 (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)

    D1 Daniele Patucchi - People Come in 4:1
    D2 Mang Dynasty - After Dark (Dub) 6:08 (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    D3 Detachments - The Flowers That Fell (Fernando Remix) 7:19

    CD Tracklist (includes unmixed tracks via download code as mp3/wav)

    1. Typesun - Last Home
    2. The Blaxploited Orchestra - The Pursuit (Good Guy Mikesh & Filburt Remix)
    3. The Gino Fontaine – Revnorev (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    4. Salsoul Invention - Soul Machine
    5. Neurotic Drum Band - Neurotic Erotic Adventure
    6. Day Outside - Faraway Sensation (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    7. Mugwump - Boutade (Miseridub)
    8. Hubbabubbaklubb - Mopedbart
    9. As One - Music Is An Open Sky
    10. Crowdpleaser & St Plomb - Not Yet Not Yet
    11. Paqua - Late Train (Emperor Machine Remix)
    12. The Grid & Robert Fripp - A Cabala Sky (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    13. Asadinho - Haiku
    14. Justus Kohncke - Tell Me
    15. Daniele Patucchi - People Come in (Mang Dynasty Edit)
    16. Mang Dynasty - After Dark (Dub) (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    17. Detachments - The Flowers That Fell (Fernando Remix) (EXCLUSIVE TRACK)
    18. General Lee - Magic

  • Released 06/07/2014

    Catalogue No. ALN36