Leifur James


The London based composer and producer Leifur James released his debut album ‘A Louder Silence’ in October 2018, attracting immediate support from Pitchfork, Mixmag, KEXP, XLR8R, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM and BBC Radio 6 Music DJs - Mixmag 8/10, Future Music UK Album of the Month 9/10, Electronic Sound 9/10.

‘Wurlitzer’ is the first piece of music he revealed from a new creative period after those sessions. The video was created by animator/director Balázs Simon, premiering on Boiler Room and has been nominated for the BMVA Berlin Music Video Awards alongside Jon Hopkins Singularity in the experimental music category. The result is ravishing 4 minutes of piano-fused electronica haunted by ecological currents. Watch the Wurlitzer (Official Music Video) on Boiler Room 4:3.

In October 2019, he has prepared a remix EP of the debut album A Louder Silence, featuring a slew of the finest musicians in electronic music today. Bruce, coming off the back of his hugely well received debut album for Hessle Audio, has a “resymph” of Osho in typical mind-bending austere electronic style. Whities producer and Tirzah/Mica Levi collaborator Coby Sey reconstructs Suns of Gold with his sampler. Blueberry Records founder FaltyDL aka Drew Lustman contributes a deep, skipping 2-stepping reversion of Mumma Don’t Tell. Auntie Flo AKA Brian d’Souza flexes his world-club fusion on a shimmering remix of Salaninam. And London cellist, composer and Radiohead regular collaborator Oliver Coates reshapes Red Sea into a swirling post-rock noise, leading into a jazz-chamber music outro.

The 4 most DJ friendly cuts from FaltyDL, Bruce, Coby Sey and Leifur’s own remix were released as a highly limited edition 12”. In total, it’s a refreshingly diverse and creative collection of new approaches to Leifur’s source material.

KEXP — "An evocative set of spacious, cerebral, nuanced electronic grooves"
MIXMAG — "A subtle album that draws you further and further into an intimate world"
XLR8R — "A fascinating and shapeshifting debut"