Needledrop Remixed

Needledrop Remixed

Session Victim

Skip to product information
1 of 3
Select format:
View full details
  • Released 12/06/2020

    Catalogue No. ALNLP59REMIXED

    Following the release of the ‘Needledrop’ album via ‘Night Time Stories’, Session Victim's ‘Needledrop Remixed’ project features reworks from; Laurence Guy, Jackmate (aka Soulphiction), Patrice Scott, Dday One and Panoram.

    “For the remix EP of our album ‘Needledrop’, we got 5 artists on board who play and work in quite different areas and genres but all have had a substantial impact on us, musically and/or personally over the years.” – Session Victim 

    Expanding upon the album’s blend of jazz, electronic and downtempo, each of the remixers instill their own production styles to reimagine one of underground music’s most intriguing and genre-crossing acts into a new listening experience. From Laurence Guy’s melodic yet driving remix of ‘Needledrop’, to Jackmate’s transformation of ‘Still High’ into 5-minute, experimental rework, ‘Needledrop Remixed’ continues to reaffirm the original album as Session Victim’s most eclectic LP to date.  

    With each remixer personally selected by Session Victim, the EP channels a deeper exploration of the album. Patrice Scott 90’s influenced take on ‘Isle Of Taste’ is a longer and more contemporary offering, whilst Dday One’s remix of ‘Jazzbeat 7’ adds a sinuous saxophone solo to fully embrace the experimental spirit of the original. The neo-jazz feel of ‘No Sky, Blue Sound’ is flipped to a slower tempo by Panoram, yet retains the explorative guitar solo heard on the album.

    ‘Needledrop’ is Session Victim’s anticipated 11-track album. With industry support from the likes of CRACK, Dummy, Mixmag, DJ Mag, Resident Advisor, XLR8R and more, the album was released on 'Night Time Stories’, the London based sister label to the coveted ‘LateNightTales’. Marking a notable shift towards the downtempo dynamic of artists like Nightmares on Wax, DJ Shadow and Portishead, ‘Needledrop’ provides a suite of both uplifting and easy-listening moments, refined and understated individually, yet cohesively crafted with the honest musicianship and inarguable credentials that we know of the production duo Session Victim.

    ‘Needledrop’ focuses on a large arsenal of influences across long-forgotten vinyl, 90’s computer games and beyond, rediscovering the intuitive and playful sides of their production personalities, while also demonstrating their cherished music knowledge.


    1. Needledrop (Laurence Guy Remix)
    2. Still High (Jackmate's Juke Rework)
    3. Isle Of Taste (Patrice Scott Remix)
    4. Jazzbeat 7 (Dday One Remix)
    5. No Sky, Blue Sound (Panoram Rework)
  • Released 12/06/2020

    Catalogue No. ALNLP59REMIXED