After Dark - Vespertine

After Dark - Vespertine

Bill Brewster

Skip to product information
1 of 6
Select format:
View full details
  • Released 04/08/2023

    Catalogue No. ALN69

    This August the esteemed scribe, proper DJ, and discreetly deft twiddler Bill Brewster, drops the latest instalment in his ‘After Dark’ series, for Late Night Tales. 

     A throbbing, louche and leisurely affair, groove is very much at the heart of this freestyle selection, a vibe which Bill describes as “a basement, a red light and a sound system. Or, as the Beastie’s once rapped, slow and low, that is the tempo”.

    There’s Hawaiian drum machine bossa balearica from Island Band, percussive afro post punk from Czech jazz singer Jana Koubkova, and breathy-bubbling-dubwise-slap-bass-soul from Debbe & The Code.

    There’s also sultry deep house mood music from Lanowa, infectious bouncy jazz funk breaks from Canada High, and Nail’s life affirming re-edit of singer songwriter Gilbert O Sullivan’s electro pop gem ‘So What’. 

     Bill’s own studio skills are present and correct too, featuring an undulating bassy version of country troubadour Jeb Loy Nichols, reworked along Alex Tepper under their Hotel Motel moniker, and a chugged-up squelchy disco take on Khruangbin, this time paired with Raj Gupta, as Mang Dynasty.

     Chock full of exclusives, tracks are either completely brand new, or available digitally for the first time, whilst others are wallet-rinsing rarities if purchased elsewhere. Whichever way you slice it though, every tune is a highlight, working equally well as standalone nuggets, or within Bill’s fluidly cohesive mix.


    1. Toe - Infinite Consciousness
    2. Island Band - Idle Hours
    3. Jana Koubkova - Nijana
    4. Dan Wainwright - Come Home
    5. Jeb Loy Nichols - Don't Drop Me (Hotel Motel Remix)
    6. Nick Munday - Drum Lock
    7. Khruangbin - So We Won't Forget (Mang Dynasty Forgotten Dub)
    8. Matt Rhythm - We Were Made To Be Artists
    9. Debbe & The Code - Code Of Love
    10. Lanowa - Burning Up
    11. Gilbert O Sullivan - So What (Nail Edit)
    12. Canada High - Le Chiffre
    13. Smashed Atoms And Backdoor Man - Hey Dreamer
    14. Patina - Arphicelago
    15. Fernando Pulichino - 1998
    16. Ipg - Open Space (Hot Toddy Mix)
    17. Carl Finlow - Hyperkagome
    18. Rheinzand - Kills & Kisses (Scorpio Twins Remix)
    19. Chaz Jankel - Manon Manon
  • Released 04/08/2023

    Catalogue No. ALN69